In May 1923 Friedrich Henschen founded the Henschen Transport Company. Its first premises where on Klybeckstrasse in Basel while the workyard was situated at Hochbergerstrasse, near the „Badische“ railway station, thus assuring the connection to the railway hub.
In addition to furniture transport, which already had international dimensions, at the time Henschen also transported and dealt with coal and wood. This sideline was necessary because moving was still clearly limited to the beginning of a quarter. Also, it was generally not allowed to terminate a lease in December, which meant that Henschen had to transport coal and wood to tide them over this period.
In the early years of Henschen Transport removals were done by horse and wagon. But as early as 1925 the borrowed horses were replaced by a second-hand „Berna“ truck.
In 1954 Friedrich Henschen turned the Transport Company over to Fritz Henschen who in 1963 moved its premises to Hofackerstrasse in Muttenz. Trade with coal and wood was abandoned due to the now lacking direct rail connection.
As of 1968 the transport of goods was added to that of furniture, works of art and freight. In 1976 Fritz Henschen hat to move out of Hofackerstrasse where the rent was being continually raised. At Marschalkenstrasse 8 in Muttenz he found the new - and current - location for Henschen Ltd.
More and more, the transport of goods and freight, with a few expections, was displaced by the ever increasing transport of furniture. 1988 saw the third generation, Peter Henschen, take over the Furniture and Artwork Transport Company Henschen Ltd..
Representing the fourth generation, Daniel Henschen, Peter Henschen's son, joins Henschen Ltd. In 1998.
After roughly 15 years with the company, Daniel Henschen takes over Henschen Ltd. In 2013.
Following the tragic loss of Daniel Henschen in 2017, Peter Henschen returns to the helm of Henschen Ltd., together with his son-in-law, Daniel Jüni.
in memoriam Daniel Henschen *1978-2017
Henschen AG
Marschalkenstrasse 8
CH-4132 Muttenz
Private and Business Relocations
Art Transport
Furniture Warehouse
Overseas Packaging
Tel. +41 (0)61 463 80 90
Fax +41 (0)61 463 80 93
info@henschen.ch
created by holzer informatik

Im Mai 1923 gründete Friedrich Henschen das Transportunternehmen Henschen. Zu Anfang war Henschen an der Klybeckstrasse in Basel ansässig. Der Werkhof befand sich zu dieser Zeit an der Hochbergerstrasse nahe dem Badischen Bahnhof, dies damit auch der Anschluss an das Schienennetz gewährleistet war.
Zu jener Zeit wurde nebst dem bereits internationalen Möbeltransport auch Kohle und Holz transportiert und gehandelt. Dies war nötig, da die Umzugssaison dazumal noch deutlicher Ende eines Quartals begann. Dazu kam, dass in der Regel im Dezember nicht gekündigt werden konnte, und somit bei Henschen diese Zeit mit dem Kohle- und Holztransport gefüllt werden musste.
In den Anfangsjahren des jungen Henschen Transportunternehmens wurden die Möbeltransporte noch mit Ross und Wagen ausgeführt. Doch bereits 1925 wurden die geliehenen Pferde durch einen Occasion "Berna" Lastwagen ersetzt.
Im Jahre 1954 übergab Friedrich Henschen das Transportunternehmen an Fritz Henschen. 1963 zügelte Fritz Henschen das Transportunternehmen in die Hofackerstrasse in Muttenz. Der Kohle- und Holzhandel wurde eingestellt, da der nötige Schienenanschluss nicht mehr vorhanden war.
Ab 1968 wurden zusätzlich zum Möbel-, Kunst- und Gütertransport auch Warentransporte angenommen. 1976 musste Fritz Henschen von der Hofackerstrasse wieder ausziehen, da die Mietzinsen ständig anstiegen. Er fand an der Marschalkenstrasse 8 in Muttenz das noch heutige Domizil der Henschen AG.
Zunehmende Möbeltransporte verdrängten schliesslich den Güter- und Warentransport immer mehr bis auf wenige Ausnahmen. Schliesslich im Jahre 1988 übernahm bereits die dritte Generation, Peter Henschen, das Möbel- und Kunsttransportunternehmen Henschen AG.
Peter Henschens Sohn, Daniel Henschen und somit die vierte Generation wird im Jahr 1998 in der Firma Henschen AG aktiv.
Nach rund 15 Jahren Tätigkeit in der Firma übernimmt Daniel Henschen die Henschen AG im Jahr 2013.
Henschen AG
Marschalkenstrasse 8
CH-4132 Muttenz
Privat- und Geschäftsumzüge
Kunsttransporte
Möbellager
Überseeverpackungen
Tel. +41 (0)61 463 80 90
Fax +41 (0)61 463 80 93
info@henschen.ch
created by holzer informatik